An Apology: Why I Believe

An Apology Why I Believe

I cannot prove to you that God exists.

Some argue that believing in something without adequate proof is foolish, irresponsible, or even immoral. Yet, it seems to me that we all believe in things without adequate proof all the time. Besides, who decides what amount of proof is adequate? We can’t live our lives testing every single belief for validity — doing so would be both impossible and impractical.

Me, I’m pretty much a pragmatist. The idea of basing all beliefs off of logic and reason is all good and well but I have never found it to be ultimately realistic. At the end of the day, one must hold beliefs without proper evidence or proof simply because it is functionally practical to believe certain things.

I cannot “prove”, by any logical or scientific means, that love exists. Yet, I have found through my own belief in love as well as a similar belief in others that such a belief functionally works. This belief allows me to trust people more than I otherwise could. The belief allows me to accept the care of others when I otherwise could not. The belief allows me to care for others in ways that I could not if I did not believe that love existed. Thus, in my opinion, it is better to believe in love without proper evidence than to deny belief in it until I can prove its reality.

I believe in God not because of a scientific or logical argument but because I have found that the belief is functional to the extent that it is better to assume that belief than to wait for significant evidence through scientific or logical reasoning.

The more that I live in to the gospel and message of Jesus Christ the more alive I become. When I allow myself to fully embrace my belief in God (as understood by Christianity), I become more joyful. I become more loving. I become more hopeful. I become more inspired. I become bolder. I become more generous. I become more trusting. I become more trustworthy. I become less fearful. I become more free.

The evidence that I see in my own life is ultimately a more powerful argument than logic or reason.

What is more, the more that I see others live in to the gospel, the more alive I see them become. I am certainly not the only one to discover that living in to the gospel makes one free.

On the other side of the coin, the less I live in to the gospel, the more dead I become. The less that I see others live in to the gospel, the more dead they become.

One of my mentors put it best: “Not everyone who looks alive is alive”

Certainly, this is not the type of argument (if you can call it that) that will convince a skeptic to believe in God; however, that is not my intention. My only hope is to explain why I believe in God without “satisfiable” evidence. The evidence of the transformation of my life is enough to convince me that there is a God and that He is making me more than I ever thought I could be.

Perhaps I am wrong. Maybe there is no God. But if that is the case, I still hold no regrets for living life the way I do — filled with hope, purpose, love, and grace. I would rather have those things and be wrong than lack them and be correct.

Sometimes, it is best to base beliefs off of what works than on reason.

An Apology began with “Introduction”“Apologizing” , “What I Believe” and “What I Don’t Believe” and will continue next week with “Why I don’t Believe”, followed by, “Conclusion: Why I Still Believe”.

Leave a Reply

